2016 Doug Moran National Portrait Prize Semi-Finalists announced

In News September 13, 2016

Congratulations to Australian Galleries represented artists Dean Brown, Prudence Flint, Stewart MacFarlane,  Lewis Miller, Rodney Pople, Peter Wegner, Marcus Wills and Christine Wrest-Smith, who have each been announced as Semi-Finalists in the 2016 Doug Moran National Portrait Prize.  

The Doug Moran National Portrait Prize encourages both excellence and creativity in contemporary Australian portraiture by asking artists to interpret the look and personality of a chosen sitter, either unknown or well known. 

Founded by Doug & Greta Moran and family in 1988, the DMNPP is an annual Australian portrait prize supporting Australian artists and the wider arts community by holding the free annual Moran Prizes exhibition, now at Juniper Hall Paddington, displaying the top 30 works selected by nominated judges each year. 

For the full list of semi-finalists and further information on the prize, visit http://www.moranprizes.com.au/gallery/portrait

Pictured above: Stewart MacFarlane ‘Corey with flowers’



Peter Wegner ‘Spike Rotundo’




Christine Wrest-Smith ‘Portrait of Jock Clutterbuck’




Rodney Pople ‘Legacy of betrayal (portrait of Phil D’Ammond)




Rodney Pople ‘Legacy of betrayal (portrait of Steven Fisher)




Dean Brown ‘Scott Fardy’




Lewis Miller ‘Saffron Patel aged 10’




Marcus Wills ‘Mia’




Prudence Flint ‘Large Tartan Blanket’