2017 Geelong acquisitive print awards – Shortlist announced

In News June 15, 2017

Geelong Gallery is delighted to announce that 38 works by 39 leading and emerging Australian artists have been shortlisted for the 2017 Geelong acquisitive print awards.

Showcasing diverse contemporary Australian printmaking practice, the acquisitive awards and biennial exhibition will feature works by Benjamin Armstrong, Rosalind Atkins, Elizabeth Banfield, G.W Bot, Laura Castell, Jock Clutterbuck, Marian Crawford, Ben Fennessy, Dianne Fogwell, Peter Garnick, Kaye Green, Sue Grossman, Andrew Gunnell, Gracia Haby and Louise Jennison, Robert Hague, Rew Hanks, Carolyn Hawkins, Clare Humphries, Anita Iacovella, Michael Kempson, Deborah Klein, Jo Langley, Marion Manifold, Megan McPherson, David Nixon, Jiri Tibor Novak, Sharron Okines, Glenda Orr, Janet Parker-Smith, Jim Pavlidis, Stieg Persson, Ben Rak, Brian Robinson, Kati Thamo, Bridgit Thomas, Vanessa Wallace, Halina Wolski and Joel Wolter.

The exhibition of selected prints will be held at the Geelong Gallery from 12 August to 8 October 2017, from which acquisitions totalling $8,500 will be made including:
  — the Geelong acquisitive print award of $5,000
  — the Ursula Hoff Institute award of $3,500
  — additional acquisitions up to $3,000
Furthermore, one additional artist will be selected by the judging panel and invited to take up a 5-day printmaking residency at Queenscliff Gallery and Workshop (QG&W).