Finalists announced – Archibald, Wynne and Sulman Prizes 2021

In News May 27, 2021

Image above: Peter Wegner  Portrait of Guy Warren at 100  oil on canvas  120.5 x 151.5 cm

Congratulations to Graeme Drendel, Michael Snape and Peter Wegner who have been selected as finalists for the 2021 Archibald Prize, Tim Storrier for the Wynne Prize, and Graeme Drendel and Glenn Morgan for the Sulman Prize at the Art Gallery of NSW.


Graeme Drendel – Archibald Prize

Michael Snape – Archibald Prize

Peter Wegner – Archibald Prize

Tim Storrier – Wynne Prize

Graeme Drendel – Sulman Prize

Glenn Morgan – Sulman Prize


“This year marks 100 years of Australia’s oldest and most-loved portrait award. The Archibald Prize, first awarded in 1921, is the country’s favourite art award, and one of its most prestigious. Awarded to the best portrait painting, it’s a who’s who of Australian culture – from politicians to celebrities, sporting heroes to artists.

The Wynne Prize is awarded to the best landscape painting of Australian scenery, or figure sculpture, while the Sulman Prize is given to the best subject painting, genre painting or mural project in oil, acrylic, watercolour or mixed media.” – AGNSW

The Archibald and Wynne prizes are judged by the trustees of the Art Gallery of NSW, and an artist is invited to judge the Sulman.

The exhibition is on display at the Art Gallery of NSW and is current from 5 June – 26 September 2021.

Click here to read more about the exhibition and to visit the Archibald, Wynne and Sulman Prizes at Art Gallery of NSW.